China Open

China Open was launched in 2004, and is held in Beijing during the Chinese National Day Holiday once a year regularly. The China Open was formerly the Beijing Salem Open. The men’s singles and doubles events were first held in 1993, the year in which the Qatar Open and Dubai Tennis Championships were also introduced to the men’s tour, as the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) opened a series of new tournaments in Asia.

In 1998, the tournament was dropped from the ATP tour calendar, but was reinstated in 2004, the same year as the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour women’s singles and doubles events, previously held in Shanghai, were moved to Beijing. China Open is played on outdoor hard courts. Both the men’s and the women’s events were held at the National Tennis Center in Beijing, China. China Open 2013 was held from September 30 till October 6, 2013. It was the 15th edition of the China Open, and part of the ATP 500 Series of the 2013 ATP World Tour, and of the Premier Series of the 2013 WTA Tour.

In this year’s event, Chinese No. 1 Li Na lost to ninth seed Petra Kvitova of the Czech Republic 4-6, 6-2, 6-4 in the quarterfinals of the Women’s Singles. In the end, Serena Williams claimed the Women’s champion, while Novak Djokovic got the Men’s.



Leave a comment

Filed under Point of interest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s